Random »

Médiacité

A tremendous human adventure!

Médiacité

An industrial wasteland of more than 6.5 hectares transformed into a new and vibrant district, 160,000 m² total floor area (of which nearly 45.313 m² GLA), 124 stores (some of which now have a presence for the first time in Wallonia, or indeed in Belgium) some 1,200 jobs created, first Breeam certification awarded in our country for an efficiently constructed building, partnership with top professionals (headed by the architect-designer Ron Arad),… : these are some of the “highlights” of Médiacité, a new way of envisioning and remodelling the city,
but above all, an exceptional human and architectural adventure”, as Peter Wilhelm, CEO of the Group Wilhelm & Co., stresses. A multi-functional complex combining commerce, leisure, culture, media and economic activity, Médiacité has achieved the tremendous feat of making the old deprived Liège district of Longdoz an attractive place to visit, and it has attracted 5.3 million customers and visitors the first year. Apart from the undeniable audacity of its architecture and urban planning that from now on will be its “signature”,
Médiacité is unique because of another pioneering achievement for a building in this country: the prestigious and highly-coveted Breeam certification, with, what is more, a “very good” mention. “Nowadays seen as a real “must”, this international standard of reference particularly takes into account the building’s environmental footprint during the whole of its lifetime,” continues the head of Wilhelm & Co.

 

 

Bold architecture, stores never seen in Belgium before

To design and create Médiacité, the promoter-developer had no hesitation in bringing together highly skilled experts from all over Europe, leaders in their respective fields. Among them the architect-designer Ron Arad, the Jaspers-Eyers architectural practice, civil engineers TPF, and Buro Happold from London, and, internally, the Wilhelm & Co Architecture & Design unit, a distinctive arm of the firm led by Nicole Van den Plas.

A strong architectural image that shines out over the whole Longdoz district, and has attracted an impressive number of stores, most of them new to the site. It’s notably the case with “newcomers” to Wallonia (such as McGregor and Gaastra), indeed to Belgium: the unstoppable European “fashion” chain Primark (which has taken on 160 staff!) and one of the leading European “lifestyle” brands, Tom Tailor.

“Altogether, 45,313 m² GLA have been built, almost tripling the floor area of the old Longdoz arcade, dedicated to retail, catering and leisure, without forgetting the creation of 2,350 underground parking spaces managed by Gespark (subsidiary owned 50-50 by Parking Cathédrale/Wilhelm & Co)”, says Jean-Michel Despaux, managing director of development at Wilhelm & Co Group. “As of today, Médiacité has directly created 1,200 jobs. As for its customer catchment area, it goes far beyond the centre of the Ardennes capital and the Liège region to extend over a large part of Wallonia and the Meuse-Rhine Euro-region and its million potential customers.”

Leaving nothing to chance, Wilhelm & Co entrusted the management of its new commercial complex to its subsidiary, Gesmall, and its director Xavier Leloup (who is particularly known from his 13 years at the head of City 2).

The puzzle is coming together. After the Shopping Centre and Pôle Image, RTBF has inaugurated its new and largest studio in Wallonia in a magnificent new building – Media Rives, and a brand new Olympic ice skating rink (built by the City of Liège) has been opened since December 2012. In the months to come, Médiacité will continue to expand with a 6-screen cinema.

Summing up, Peter Wilhelm says: “For the originality of its building approach, its architectural durability, the international store names it has been able to attract, its future development and its total integration into a district it has reshaped and a city it contributes to revitalising, Médiacité is, for all who have taken part in the project, a tremendous human adventure!”

Perfectly suited to commercial centres, this international certification is the oldest and most widely-used reference throughout the world, the highest standard in terms of sustainable construction. It has become the de facto standard evaluation method to assess a building’s environmental performance. “Of around thirty pilot projects, Médiacité is one of the first in Europe and the first in Belgium to be awarded the certification at the design stage,” explained BRE Global, the independent body that awarded this distinction to Médiacité.

A distinction that will not stop Wilhelm & Co from proving, as it has committed to doing, that the building’s energy performance is still completely valid.

 

 

 

News » View All

a la une NL et ANGL

Back to school!

August 30, 2014 |

...

A la Une soldes FR

1st July : Opening until midnight for the first day of the sales!

June 25, 2014 |

On 1st July, Médiacité will be open until midnight for the first day of the sales!...

dbac86797a0dcf50bc6d40d98e4e2817-1374481686

The 8 semifinalists of The Voice Belgium will attend a signing session !

April 18, 2014 |

On Wednesday 23 April from 12:30 am until 05:00 pm the 8 semifinalists of The Voice Belgium will attend a signing session on the 1st floor in Médiacité. With the participation of BJ Scott, Bastian Baker, Maureen Louys and Adrien Devyver!...

A la une soldes

Winter sales!

November 6, 2013 |

Winter Sales : on Friday 3rd of January until midnight ! And open on Sunday 5th of January from 11am until 7pm. Discover our events here!...

noel

The Magic of Christmas: sunday openings

November 5, 2013 |

The Magic of Christmas Exceptional openings on Sunday 15th and 22nd of December from 11am until 7pm. Discover our events here...

A la Une - St Nicolas

Saint Nicolas is arriving at Médiacité !

November 5, 2013 |

Saint Nicolas will arrive on Saturday 16th November at 1pm! Every Wednesday and Saturday from the 16th of November until the 4th of December incl., Saint Nicolas will be at Médiacité. You will meet him in the mall between 1p.m. and 3p.m. Then he will wait for all the children in his Ice Cave between [&hellip...

Recreation

Pourquoi Médiacité? ANGLAIS

Centre commercial à Liège à l'architecture surprenante. Plus de 160.000 m² de Shopping, Loisirs, Plaisirs : Médiacité, ce sont 124 enseignes dont certaines uniques en Belgique, la Cité des Kid’s (espace jeux pour enfants), une billetterie... Ici, shopping rime aussi avec loisirs et plaisir : un calendrier d’événements hors du commun, une patinoire olympique, des médias incontournables et bientôt la magie du cinéma, ... voilà pourquoi Médiacité : un shopping center hors du commun!

Social

New services

Scroll to top

Médiacité

Une formidable aventure humaine

Médiacité

Une friche industrielle de plus de 6,5 ha transformée en nouveau quartier de vie, 160.000 m² de surface totale (dont près de 45.313 m² GLA), 124 enseignes (dont certaines présentes pour la première fois en Wallonie voire en Belgique), quelque 1.200 emplois créés, première certification Breeam décernée dans notre pays pour un bâtiment effectivement construit, partenariat avec les plus grands professionnels (au premier rang desquels l’architecte-designer Ron Arad),… :tels sont quelques-uns des “hotspots” de Médiacité, une nouvelle façon de penser la ville,
de la remodeler, « mais avant tout une exceptionnelle aventure humaine et architecturale », comme le souligne Peter Wilhelm,le CEO du Groupe Wilhelm & Co. Complexe multifonctionnel mêlant commerces, loisirs, cultures, médias et activités économiques, Médiacité a réussi la gageure de faire de l’ancien quartier liégeois en totale déshérence du Longdoz un nouveau pôle d’attractivité, qui a déjà drainé quelques 5.3 millions de clients et visiteurs la première année. Outre l’incontestable audace architecturale et urbanistique qui constitue dès à présent sa “griffe”,
Médiacité se distingue aussi par une authentique première pour un bâtiment construit dans notre pays : la prestigieuse et très convoitée certification Breeam, avec la mention “very good”, qui plus est. « Désormais considérée comme un véritable “must”, cette norme de référence internationale tient notamment compte de l’empreinte environnementale du bâtiment durant toute sa durée de vie », reprend le patron de Wilhelm & Co.

 

 

Une architecture audacieuse, des enseignes jamais vues en Belgique

Pour concevoir et réaliser Médiacité, le promoteur-aménageur n’a pas hésité à s’adjoindre des compétences venues de toute l’Europe, d’authentiques références dans leurs disciplines respectives. Parmi celles-ci, l’architecte-designer Ron Arad, le bureau d’architecture Jaspers-Eyers, la société d’ingénierie immobilière TPF et les Londoniens du Buro Happold, ou, en interne, la cellule Architecture & Design de Wilhelm & Co, vraie particularité de la société, et dirigée par Nicole Van den Plas.

Une image architecturale forte qui rejaillit sur tout le quartier du Longdoz et a séduit un nombre impressionnant d’enseignes, le plus souvent nouvelles sur le site. C’est notamment le cas de “newcomers” en Wallonie (comme McGregor et Gaastra) voire en Belgique : la locomotive européenne du “fashion” Primark (qui a procède à l’engagement de 160 collaborateurs !) et l’un des leaders européens des marques “lifestyle”, Tom Tailor.

« En tout, ce sont 45.313 m² GLA qui ont été construits, triplant ainsi quasiment la surface initiale de l’ancienne galerie Longdoz, dédiés au commerce et à l’horeca et aux loisirs, sans oublier la création de 2.350 places de parking souterrain gérés par Gespark (filiale à 50-50 de Parking Cathédrale/Wilhelm & Co), explique Jean-Michel Despaux, Directeur Général du développement du groupe Wilhelm & Co. Médiacité crée dès aujourd’hui 1.200 emplois directs. Quant à sa zone de chalandise, elle dépasse largement le centre-ville de la Cité ardente et la région liégeoise pour s’étendre à une bonne part de la Wallonie et de l’Euregio Meuse-Rhin et à son million de clients potentiels. »

Ne laissant rien au hasard, Wilhelm & Co a confié la gestion de son nouveau complexe commercial à sa filiale Gesmall et à son directeur Maximilien Lefebvre et à toute une équipe de professionnels de management de centres commerciaux.

Aujourd’hui, le puzzle est en place. Après le Shopping Centre et le Pôle Image, la RTBF a inauguré son nouveau studio, le plus grand de Wallonie, dans un bâtiment flambant neuf – Média Rives – et une patinoire olympique (construite par la Ville de Liège), depuis fin 2012. Dans les mois à venir, Médiacité poursuivra encore son développement en s’adjoignant un complexe de 6 salles de cinéma.

Et Peter Wilhelm de conclure : « Par l’originalité de sa démarche immobilière, sa hardiesse architecturale, les enseignes internationales qu’elle a déjà pu attirer, ses développements futurs et son intégration totale dans un quartier qu’elle a remodelé et une ville qu’elle contribue à redynamiser, Médiacité constitue avant tout, pour tous ceux qui ont pris part à ce projet, une formidable aventure humaine ! »

Parfaitement adaptée aux centres commerciaux, cette certification internationale constitue le référentiel le plus ancien et le plus utilisé à travers le monde, le standard de référence en termes de construction durable. Il en est devenu de facto la méthode d’évaluation utilisée pour décrire la performance environnementale d’un bâtiment. « Sur une trentaine de projets pilotes, Médiacité est l’un des tout premiers a obtenir la certification au stade de la conception en Europe, et le premier en Belgique », explique BRE Global, l’organisme indépendant qui a décerné cette distinction à Médiacité.

Une distinction qui n’empêchera pas Wilhelm & Co, comme il s’y est engagé, de prouver que la performance énergétique du bâtiment est toujours bel et bien valide.

Récompenses

En 2010, Wilhelm & Co a reçu pour Médiacité 2 awards du Conseil Belgo-Luxembourgeois des centres commerciaux (CBLCC) : celui du meilleur nouveau Shopping Center pour l’année 2010, et le prix de « Sustainability » qui récompense le développement durable.

 

 

 

News » View All

Recreation

Recent Posts View All

août 11, 2017 |

ZARA

...

Kiabi

juin 9 |

JD Sports

mai 8 |

Recent Posts View All

août 11, 2017 |

ZARA

...

Kiabi

juin 9 |

JD Sports

mai 8 |

Social

Nouveaux services

Scroll to top